Thursday, June 10, 2010

Soup, Cream of Tomato; Cream of Mushroom

Finally found 1 brand of Instant Soup to my liking. It did not label itself as vegetarian, I checked its label on ingredients:
No msg, no onion & garlic mentioned (& I couldn't sense the taste), the sourness & non-diluteness of the tomato soup is just nice for me! :-)
This Cream of Tomato by "Dancing Chef" is a product of Switzerland and I found it 1st on the shelf of OG's food/tibits section. However, it does contain milk protein which is not suitable for Vegans and it comes with croutons which I would had preferred without.

Having greater confidence after trying their tomato soup, I went in search for its other pro-vegetarian version, I found their Cream of Mushroom at the local Supermarket's Instant Soup section. The soup is thick too & taste good as well but abit salty to my taste though.:-)
Well, for vegetarians, you may have to exercise caution if to consume as according to a comment by a kind anonymous, whey/whey powder (stated as one of its ingredients) may be derived from animal rennet.

Ingredients indicated on label of Cream of Tomato:
Tomato powder, potato starch, sugar, modified corn starch, croutons (wheat flour, vegetable oil, salt, yeast, anti-oxidant: propyl gallate), salt, dried glucose syrup, vegetable fat, wheat flour, yeast extract, dehydrated beetroot juice, milk protein, dehydrated basil, citric acid, flavours.

Ingredients indicated on label of Cream of Mushroom:
Potato starch, vegetable fat, dried glucose syrup, salt, whey powder, modified corn starch, maltodextrin, champignon extract, sugar, dehydrated mushrooms (champignons, boletus), yeast extract, dehydrated parsley, flavours, citric acid, spice.


Anonymous said...

Hi, just to clarify. Whey powder is considered a dairy product therefore it's definitely not vegan. Some whey/whey powder is derived from animal rennet therefore it may or may not be suitable for vegetarians.

Sunny said...

Hi Anonymous,
Thanks for clarifying...
Sorry for any misleading info...